The first way that a Location card can be used is as a Home Base. To use a Location card as a Home Base, first look at the Character List on the Location card you wish to use. Each Character on your team must appear on the Character List of the desired Location card (see Character cards). If you have one or more Characters on your team that do not appear on the desired Location card, then that particular Location card may not be used as a Home Base with that particular team. If all four Characters on your team appear in the Character List on the desired Location card then that particular Location card may be used as a Home Base. In addition, any team of Characters that is listed on a Location card is considered a legal team for tournament deckbuilding while using that Location card as a home base (See Sum Deck Rule).
Once you have assembled a team of Characters, and chosen a Home Base that corresponds to those Characters, then your team must use the Inherent Ability for that particular Location card. The Location card's Inherent Ability may be used in addition to any Inherent Abilities that might appear on any of the Character cards of the Characters on your team.
Remember, it is not necessary to use a Location card as a Home Base in order to play OverPower. In fact, some of your favorite teams may not even be listed in the Character Lists of any of the Location cards. If your team of Characters does not correspond to any given Location card, simply do not use a Location card as a Home Base.
The second way that a Location card can be used is as a Battlesite. To use a Location card as a Battlesite, first look at the Character List on the Location card you wish to use. No Character on your team may appear on the Character List of the desired Location card (see Character cards). If you have one or more Characters on your team who appear on the desired Location card, then that particular Location card may not be used as a Battlesite with that particular team. If none of the four Characters on your team appear in the Character List for the desired Location card, then that particular Location card may be used as a Battlesite. If you are using a Location card as a Battlesite, then the Inherent Ability listed on that particular Battlesite is not used and should be ignored. Inherent Abilities on Location cards are only used when using the Location card as a Home Base. However, A Location card that is used as a Battlesite does allow you to use Special cards for Characters who are not currently on your team (See Special cards) These Special cards are put beneath the Battlesite during Set Up. There are, however, a few rules regarding what Special cards may be used:
- Only Special cards that can be played by Characters listed on the Character List of the Battlesite may be used.
- In most cases, you don't have to read much into this rule. Wolverine Specials can be played by Wolverine, Spider-Man can be played by Spider-Man.
- This rule highlights Clone characters, such as Dark Beast and Crystal. Dark Beast appears on many Location cards' Character List but there are no "Dark Beast" specials. However, he is allowed to play "Beast" specials and this allows him to have Beast specials underneath the Battlesite.
- A very interesting case involves Storm: Neutralized. Storm: Neutralized can play non One-Per-Deck Morlocks specials. With Locations such as Morlocks Tunnel, Morlocks appear on the Character list and you can mix and match between either a Morlocks or a Storm: Neutralized Activator for each non One-Per-Deck Morlocks special in the Battlesite deck. For other Locations with Storm but no Morlocks, you are allowed to put Morlocks non One-Per-Deck specials underneath the Battlesite but they would count as specials for Storm: Neutralized. All Storm variants are the same, so if you were to put the 3-stat Storm for Storm specials and Storm: Neutralized for Morlocks specials, they would both be considered duplicates.
- Special cards codes must be considered unique per Battlesite. You may only have one of each code underneath the Battlesite (after factoring in miscoded specials) even if two characters have specials with the same code. For example, AG specials, only one AG special is allowed in the Battlesite deck.
- The previous ruling allowed you to put as many specials without restriction (except for only one One Per Deck). This ruling is considered void.
- Only One "One Per Deck" Special may be used per Battlesite (after factoring specials that do not have One Per Deck stated on the card but are considered One Per Deck -- HQ specials). This is in addition to the unique Special card codes; you are not' allowed (for example) to put a One Per Deck BE special and a non-One Per deck BE special underneath a Battlesite, only one.
- For each Special card beneath your Battlesite, an Activator card corresponding to that Special MUST be included in your deck (See Activator cards). Meaning, if you choose to put three Special cards for Spider-Man under the Daily bugle Location card, then you must put three Spider-Man Activator cards in your deck. Generally, the number of Activators in your deck must equal the number of Specials underneath the Battlesite excluding Beyonder. Beyonder is allowed to be used as a bonus Activator. Beyonder is allowed to play any non One-Per-Deck special and there can only be one Beyonder Activator in a deck. If you are using Beyonder as a Character on your team, you cannot have a Beyonder Activator.